The Sørland Railway

The Sørland Railway takes you from Oslo past Kristiansand to Stavanger through contrasting scenery. The whole journey takes approximately 8 hours. The train has four daily departures, and also runs as a night train with sleeping compartments.

The train is an easy and comfortable way of travelling in Norway. If you want to break up the journey there are plenty of interesting destinations and attractions to visit along the route.

Map and stations on the Sørland Railway

The Sørland Railway stops at the following stations between Oslo and Stavanger:

Oslo S
Lysaker station
Asker station
Drammen station
Hokksund station
Kongsberg station
Nordagutu station  - connections with the Bratsbergbanen to Porsgrunn/Skien
Bø station
Lunde station
Drangedal station
Neslandsvatn station
Gjerstad station
Vegårshei station
Nelaug station
Arendal station
Vennesla station
Kristiansand station
Nodeland station
Breland station
Marnardal station
Audnedal station
Snartemo station
Storekvina station
Gyland station
Sira station
Moi station
Egersund station
Bryne station
Sandnes sentrum
Jåttåvågen station
Stavanger S

Jæren line  

The Sørland Railway consists of several intersections that were built from the west, south and east. Among them is Jærbanen -  the scenic stretch between Egersund and Stavanger.

Facilities on the Sørland Railway

These facilities are available on the Sørland Railway:

Prices and tickets

Find fares and book your tickets in our travelplanner below.       

Timetables for the Sørland Railway

The journey between Oslo and Stavanger takes about 8 hours, and the Sørland railway has 16 daily departures.  Below are timetables and traffic information for the most popular stretches: 

If you are travelling to or from other stations you can search for timetables here.